Belief / climate change / manmade climate change & AGW theory / Science and Pseudoscience

The fraud of faux certainty

I’ve been featuring the issue of climate change, or more specifically mammade climate change, quite a lot lately. Not because I believe it’s untrue. I don’t. I have no belief about it at all. As anyone who reads this will know I agree with Robert Anton Wilson that “belief is the death of intelligence”.

The problem is I don’t believe it’s true either. Or rather I can’t see how the science behind it has been shown to be comprehensive or robust enough to warrant it being considered “settled”. And that obviously puts me on the opposite side of the fence from the vast majority of the media and major political lobbies, all of whom, from Greenpeace to Goldman Sachs are trying to convince us that AGW is a thing. And a thing we need to spend shitloads of money on and accept punitive legislation about. They scream about the danger from every news portal and every press release. And they have an audience of billions listening to their side of the story, and their insistence that the world has to “believe” or die.

So, since I don’t believe in AGW, and since I think “belief” expressed as blind faith in anything is bad. I feel a need to add my little voice as a small weight on the other side.

Not to convince anyone that AGW isn’t real. Please, don’t think I’m saying that.

What I’m saying is – we don’t know. Because in scientific terms that is the only truth there is about this right now. We don’t know. No one currently knows.

And it’s the fact that the Warmists are trying to make people believe they do know that makes me mad and uneasy.

It’s fine to campaign for something. Fine to try and get your point across about something you think is important. But it’s not fine to lie about it. And it’s especially not fine to use scientific half-truths and ludicrous simplifications to try and convince people you are talking science when you’re really talking belief.

It’s like a Jehovah’s Witness coming to your door and telling you 97% of scientists agree Jesus is really pissed off.

It oversteps a boundary of ethical and moral responsibility.

Right now there’s a kind of fraud being put across.And the fraud isn’t AGW – whatever some extreme skeptics might be saying. The fraud is the claim of certainty where there is none.

And that’s why I’m talking about it as much as I am.

(cartoon by Josh – www.cartoonsbyjosh.com)

One thought on “The fraud of faux certainty

  1. Lwia punkt programu pieniędzy na które aktualnie bank Pocztowy ogólny cena uzyskania kredytu na prawdę polega ona nie nastrajają optymistycznie nastawieni. Kto prawdopodobnie osiągnąć debet na auto? Samochód nie jest w tej chwili dzień dzisiejszy dobrem luksusowym.
    kredyt bez bik http://www.lixe24.pl/

    Like

Leave a Reply

